Selling Kwek-kwek

Documentary: Selling Kwek-kwek (my video)

In my Relsfor (values and ethics in a profession) class, we were asked to produce an amateur video about the well-being of professionalism here in Philippines. The jobs we were allowed to document were the ones that need not have to be licensed and accredited by employers. In this country, these jobs can be like street food vendors, trolley drivers, and “takatak” vendors. Aside from documenting the job and the seller, we were also required to try the job itself and sell the goods or services it provided. For my last requirement in the class, I chose to be a street food vendor. I sold some kwek-kwek! 🙂

Kwek-kwek is a famous street food in Philippines. In English, it is often called “orange eggs”. The street food vendor, who pleasantly allowed me to document our interview, cook kwek-kwek, and sell it, is Ate Shirley. I found her on the street of El Vinda Subdivision at San Pedro, Laguna. She was cooking kwek-kwek when my friends and I came to see her. I kindly asked her before everything else if she could help me with my project. After two seconds, she said yes. In return, we will buy her kwek-kwek; but we did not tell her that.

She told us that she sells kwek-kwek everyday. During school days, she drives her cart and selling outside “National High School,” as she said. If there were no classes, she drives her cart around the subdivision or sometimes she just stays in front of her house (that’s where we found her). Aside from kwek-kwek, she also sells fishball, squidball, kikiam, and ice scramble. Unfortunately, on the day we met her, the only available street food was kwek-kwek because she did not receive her regular delivery of other raw goods. Each small kwek-kwek costs 1PhP and 10PhP for the large ones. Her usual capital price per day is 500PhP and if she will be able to sell a lot, she can go home with 800PhP. I think that’s a good income for a street vendor.

I was excited to try cooking kwek-kwek but I did not anticipate that coating the egg with batter would be hard. The batter was too heavy and sticky to coat the egg but after scooping it out from the batter, everything else was easy. Romeo, my friend, ate 30 pieces of small kwek-kwek(s)! Unbelievable, right? But I can’t blame him because my hands had some “chef-y” skills 😉 Just kidding! I actually made a horrible looking kwek-kwek! Good thing my friends still ate them. Nika, my other friend, ate like 20 pieces and I ate 10 pieces. We did not try the large ones, though, because we thought it was hard to eat. I couldn’t miss to mention Ate Shirley’s own mixture of the vinegar sauce; it was inexplicably tasteful! My friends and I will surely come back for more!

Credits:
Street food vendor: Ate Shirley
Photographer and Videographer: Nika Garing and Romeo Sinocruz
Editor: this kid, Ady

Anyway, if you want to make your own kwek-kwek, here’s the recipe. Click here!

2 comments
  1. leamn said:

    Your post even makes me more excited to go home. I’ll be having a vacation in the Philippines this November and Kwek-kwek is on my list of Foods to Eat. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • For sure you’ll enjoy your stay! And you’re very welcome! Hehe.

Leave a Reply

